Why living close to and in nature seems important to my life and others

I just discovered a unique poet and artist named Carolyn Mary Kleefeld. She describes what I haven´t manage to put words to really well and I thought it would fit to put it here as a quote, taken from an interview with her here:

http://www.mavericksofthemind.com/kle-int.htm

“DJB: How has being in Big Sur in particular influenced your work?

CAROLYN: It’s a unique place to be. It has accelerated my internal journey, and simultaneously my art, to be in a place where I can create the space and time to let all that’s possible happen. It’s an enigmatic and challenging environment. It’s been essential for me to be in the constant inspiration of nature, where I can be in a position to live my own natural rhythms, and define my own nature. Previously, I didn’t have the time to do so. Here, I’m able to create a world where I can live in my imagination as much of the time as possible.

This wilderness is a place that allows me to be in a receptive and vulnerable state of being. Because I’m not dealing with the daily traffic of a city, I’m not having to use the defense mechanisms that dull my sensibilities. My sensitivities and sensibilities can have the freedom to play, experiment, and just be. Big Sur is a mirror for a beautiful state of mind, hence the real importance of keeping it unpolluted can’t be stressed too much, since we have so few places left that can mirror the human soul. Of course, one’s internal environment always creates one’s perception of the external environment, wherever one is, and can eventually reshape the external.”

I underlined above, what to seems to me like a lovely way of explaining why looking after and caring for nature, being environmental friendly and learning about Acoustic Ecology, feels so important.

Carolyn Mary Kleefeld site: www.carolynmarykleefeld.com

About Elin Øyen Vister

Soundartist, composer, DJ
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

