NSA Field Recording workshop with Jana Winderen

Me and my fellow Nordic Sound Art student have just spent a short week on Hitra enjoying the knowledge and company of :
Jana Winderen, http://www.janawinderen.com/
Carsten Seiffart, Singuhr Hörgalerie, Berlin: http://www.singuhr.de/
Per Platou http://www.perplatou.net/
Professor Asbjørn Tiller, http://www.ntnu.no/ansatte/asbjorn.tiller and super organisor and associate
professor of KIT, NTNU, Ivar Smedstad, http://www.pixelpunx.com/
Hitra is an island off the coast off Trøndelag. We got there by the coastal-express boat and the a bus to Dolmsundet closest to our final destination of Hopsjø. Hopsjø is an old trading post and there are many stories connected to it¨s place and history. NTNU, the university owns an old fabric and it was a perfect place to keep a workshop.
I spent a few days testing my own equipment, gearing up for field work /season 2 of Soundscape Røs. HIglight was getting to listen out for cod with a DPA hydraphone, together with Jana Winderen and fellow students. Wonderful. The cod was acting pretty quiet, but it didn´t matter as listening underwater out on the sea on a beautiful springday was very satistfying indeed. I highly recommend you to check out her music, approach and works on her extensive webpage.
I got to try out a Telinga Pro7 parabol microphone system. It excites me how you can direct the sound you listen, follow and catch with this directional system. It was a very personal and wonderful recording experience. Zooming in on soundscapes is new to me. I have got a pair of DPA 4060 and have mainly been recording mono or stereo recordings with these small and rugged mics onto my Soundevices 702 recorder. Telinga is a great Swedish company that specializes in field recording equipment and parabols. (www.telinga.com).On my first day at hitra I walked out into a small snowstorm and quite randomly caught some bird sounds I cannot identify as well as the distant squeek of a metal- cloathing hanger rustling in the wind. What a duet! Here´s a small ear taster for you to enjoy:
I also left my equipment out overnight in a very special hunters bag/frock and tried to set a timer for a recording. I never managed to get it right…To be continued. Well I did put two DPA´s up in pine threes, hoping to catch some bird sounds and some deer sounds at night/dusk. I did get some nice bird details after all, but sadly no deers gnawing on last years grass…
A great practise ! Thanks to Nordic Sound Art program for treating us so well!
About Elin Øyen Vister

Soundartist, composer, DJ
This entry was posted in Lyd, tekst og bilde. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

